Print this page

Fifth annual SOS Strong begins with kickoff event Thursday evening Featured

SOS Strongmen stand united during the SOS Strong kickoff Thursday evening. SOS Strongmen stand united during the SOS Strong kickoff Thursday evening. Tagan Trahoon/KVOE News

The 2019 SOS Strong Fundraising Campaign is officially underway.

This year's strongmen joined representatives of SOS Thursday evening for the official kickoff celebration at Radius Brewing Company. The kickoff served as a time for the strong men to interact with members of the agency they are representing while also hearing the stories of SOS leadership and former SOS Strong participants.

The annual fundraiser brings 20 men from Lyon and surrounding counties together and tasks them each with raising $1,000 for the organization. One of this year's strongmen representing Lyon County is USD 252 Superintendent Mike Argabright.

He says he became involved with the fundraiser not only to help support SOS but to also set an example for younger generations.


Chase County representative Mike Spinden tells KVOE News SOS' mission strongly reflects the values instilled in him during his childhood.

SOS Strongman and Life Church Pastor Tony Lantz says he considers being a part of the fundraiser a true privilege.


It is safe to say all of the strongmen involved share this sentiment. This includes fellow 76th District Representative Eric Smith. He's excited to take part in an event that benefits an organization he has strong feelings towards.

Along with the proceeds which will go to benefit SOS' wide range of programs SOS Strong also helps to draw attention to the fact that not all men are abusers. SOS Strong will run from now until the annual awards celebration on August 8.

For more information, call SOS at 343-8799 or go online to Two online donation avenues are now up and running. They include a website,, and texting sosstrong to 52182. 

The full list of SOS Strongmen is as follows: 

*Lyon County: Mike Argabright, BJ Bayer, Steve Bazan, Daryn Bontrager, Osiel Garza, Brandon Kahn, Tony Lantz, Brad Richardson, Joe Russell, Chris Walker
*Chase County: Jeff Harshman, Mike Spinden
*Coffey County: Dylan Evans, Eric Smith
*Greenwood County: Nick Cherry, Nick Johnson
*Morris County: Adam Dirks, Jeremy Thibodeaux
*Osage County: Corey Linton, Chris Mullins

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Last modified on Friday, 12 July 2019 06:33