VOTE: $78 million bond passes, newcomers Seeley and Dorsey join USD 253 board, Brinkman now on City Commission Featured

Lyon County Clerk Tammy Vopat (center) and USD 253 Electronic Media Specialist Matt Fowler go over election numbers as they are announced at the Lyon County Courthouse on Tuesday. Lyon County Clerk Tammy Vopat (center) and USD 253 Electronic Media Specialist Matt Fowler go over election numbers as they are announced at the Lyon County Courthouse on Tuesday. Tagan Trahoon/KVOE News

Emporia voters approved nearly $80 million worth of improvements to public schools locally as part of the 2019 general election.

Voters approved the $78 million facility improvement bond by a final vote tally of 2,514 to 1,450, thus setting the stage for a range of projects involving safety and security, a new early learning facility and renovated or expanded academic space. Superintendent Kevin Case:

Case says the project timetable will be lined out over the next few weeks and months.

The bond supplants another facility bond passed by voters in 2000 and set to end next year.

While the future of the bond question was not in much doubt as the counting continued, the race for USD 253 school board was tight throughout. Board President Art Gutierrez was re-elected to the board with 2.656 votes.

Newcomer Leslie Seeley was second with 2,420 votes. She says she's ready to serve the district in this role.

Jeremy Dorsey was third with 2,070 votes. He was impressed the bond passed.

Incumbent Grant Riles claimed the last seat on the board, garnering 2,034 votes. He says this is a pivotal time for the district.

Mallory Koci was fifth with 1,716 votes. She said she was confident in the board's direction with the facility improvement bond now approved.

Jeff Lutes finished sixth with 1,422 votes.

For Emporia City Commission, voters lent their support to incumbents Rob Gilligan and Becky Smith -- and they approved of Susan Brinkman's transition from school board to the city. Gilligan led vote-getters with 2,107 votes.

Smith was second with 1,810 votes.

Brinkman, meanwhile, received 1,755 votes. She supplants Bobbi Mlynar, who decided against running for re-election after eight years on the commission.

Lisa Brittain congratulated the winners. She received 1,164 votes.

Joni Austenfeld picked up 1,003 votes, while Todd Maddox had 805 votes.

Elsewhere in Lyon County, three of the four incumbents on the USD 251 North Lyon County School Board -- David Goldsmith, Angela Anderson and Matt Horton -- won re-election, but Wendy Linsey was defeated by Gary Heine. Gene Windle, the only USD 252 school board member facing challengers, won re-election to his seat as well.

The Americus City Council, meanwhile, had Nicky Nuessen, Larry Birk and Kayla Burton elected to the board. In Madison, Daryl May, Earl Murphy and Jody Thomas were elected to the City Council.

Special questions were a ballot feature in Lebo and Eureka. Lebo votes rousingly approved a 1-percent sales tax question to improve the city pool. Eureka votes approved a 1-percent sales tax as well as a $5.4 million bond to replace the Eureka Junior-Senior High School activity center after it was destroyed by a tornado last year. A supplemental $900,000 bond for other improvements failed.

There will also be two new mayors after Tuesday night's vote. In Strong City, Lydia Simmons defeated Michael Cahoone, while Jacob Marsh defeated Craig Meader in Waverly.

Lyon County Clerk Tammy Vopat was pleasantly surprised by the voter turnout.


2019 election results: Lyon County

Emporia City Commission

Joni Austenfeld 1,003
Susan Brinkman 1,755
Lisa Brittain 1,164
Rob Gilligan 2,107
Todd Maddox 805
Becky Smith 1,810

USD 253 Emporia Board of Education

Jeremy Dorsey 2,070
Art Gutierrez 2,656
Mallory Koci 1,716
Jeff Lutes 1,422
Grant Riles 2,034
Leslie Seeley 2,420

USD 253 Emporia $78 million facility improvement bond

Yes 2,514
No 1,450

Americus City Council

Larry Birk 102
Kayla Burton 80
Veronica Dean 75
Jason Dye 54
Nicky Nuessen 124

USD 251 Board of Education Position 1

Gary Heine 166
Wendy Linsey 136

USD 251 Board of Education Position 2

David Goldsmith 141
Lynn McAllister 80

USD 251 Board of Education Position 3

Angela Anderson 184
Erin Calhoun-Piper 71
Matt Gehring 67

USD 251 Board of Education Position 7

Thomas Cushing 416
Matt Horton 439

USD 252 Board of Education Position 1

Amanda Bess 178
James Cassity 68
Gene Windle 196

Constitutional amendment

Yes 3,237
No 1,608

Chase County

Strong City Mayor

Michael Cahoone 38
Lydia Simmons 45

Coffey County

Lebo City Council Position 3

Tony Botkin 63
Jim Jones 120

Lebo 1% Sales Tax Increase Question

Yes 139
No 45

LeRoy City Council

Gabrielle Brite 31
Jeffery Brite 66
Jennifer Freeman 7
Stephanie Hobert 58
Kaitlyn Meats 13
Madison Parra 6
Terry Tyler 94

Waverly Mayor

Jacob Marsh 99
Craig Meader 46

Waverly City Council Position 1

Jerry Collins 95
Michael Sprinkle 47

USD 243 Lebo-Waverly Board of Education Position 1

Jeff Holmes 387
Matthew Hopkins II 153

USD 243 Lebo-Waverly Board of Education Position 4

Clinton Gross 104
Denise McNabb 457

USD 244 Burlington Board of Education Position 1

Stacy Augustyn 109
James Weeks 26

USD 245 Southern Coffey County Board of Education Position 1

Kevin Ohl 255
Heather True 219

Greenwood County

Greenwood County Commission District 4

Tami Jackson (R) 180
Robert Morgan (D) 193

Eureka Mayor

Stephen Coulter 457
Kevin Lawrence 208

Eureka 1-percent Sales Tax

Yes 515
No 158

USD 389 Eureka $5.4 million facility replacement/improvement bonds

Yes 628
No 485

USD 389 Eureka $900,000 facility bonds

Yes 537
No 574

Madison City Council

Mike Cordell 32
Darrell Hudson 34
Daryl May 69
Earl Murphy 64
Jody Thomas 50

Morris County

Council Grove Mayor

Debi Schwerdtfeger 351
Michael Soetart 16

Council Grove City Council Ward 3

Michael Soetart 17
Chris Thomas 214

Dwight City Council

Jessie Champ-Batten 12
Aubrey Evans 29
Pamela Goss 34
Richard Lindgren 22
Peter Marquardt 24
Brenda Switzer 58

Osage County

USD 420 Osage City Board of Education Position 1

Tyler Parsons 240
David Williams 297

USD 420 Osage City Board of Education Position 3

PJ Heptinstall 268
Brent Johnson 269

USD 420 Osage City Board of Education Position 7

Kat Bellinger 347
Robert Shaffer 184

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Last modified on Wednesday, 06 November 2019 07:30