2020 Teacher of Year team bolstered by ESU alumni Featured

2020 Teacher of Year team bolstered by ESU alumni Emporia State University graphic

The Kansas 2020 Teacher of the Year team has been announced, and five of the teachers are Emporia State alumni.

The list includes:

*Kara Belew, a 2011 bachelor's graduate in art history and currently a sixth-grade social studies teacher at Andover Central High School
*Amy Hillman, a 2011 master's graduate in Master Teacher elementary concentration and currently a project-based learning instructor in Olathe
*Shawn Hornung, a 1996 bachelor's graduate in sociology and currently a social studies teacher in Wamego
*Julie Loevenstein, a 1984 bachelor's degree in elementary education and currently a fourth-grade teacher in Basehor-Linwood
*Lara McDonald, now a language arts teacher at Washburn Rural Middle School

The award program recognizes teachers at the elementary and secondary levels. It also serves to build and develop a network of high-level teachers who are also leaders in student performance, school improvement and the teaching profession as a whole.

Team members will travel across the state this year to advocate for education and teaching. They will also appear at Emporia State on Feb. 4 for presentations to education students and members of the community.

Rate this item
(0 votes)