2020 National Teachers Hall of Fame inductees announced via national platform Monday Featured

National Teachers Hall of Fame class of 2020. National Teachers Hall of Fame class of 2020. Screenshot Image

Monday evening, the College Football Playoff Foundation's YouTube Channel played host to an announcement that educators across the country have been eagerly anticipating for the last six months.

The National Teacher's Hall of Fame class of 2020 inductees were announced during a special video that streamed live across the United States. The five newest inductees were joined on the broadcast by three very special guests who wished to personally offer their congratulations.

Those individuals included former US Secretary of Education Dr. John King, National Educators Association President Becky Pringle and American Federation of Teachers President Randy Weingarten. National Teacher's Hall of Fame Director Carol Strickland says having representatives such as this take part in the announcement gives more "credibility" to the hall of fame and its mission.


Strickland says the national attention being placed on the hall of fame comes at a pivotal time for education.


The 2020 Hall of Fame Class includes:

Andrew Beiter of Springville, NY, who has spent 25 years in education and currently teaches eighth-grade social studies at Springville Middle School.

Thomas Knaab a K-4 Visual Arts Teacher from East Amherst, NY who has been teaching for 31 years.

Melissa Collins a second grade teacher from Memphis Tennessee who has spent the past 21 years in education.

Donna Gradel a retired 10th-12th grade Environmental Science Teacher from Broken Arrow, OK, who taught for 33 years before her retirement.

Jamil Siddiqui a 9th to 12th-grade mathematics teacher in East Bridgewater, MA who has spent 26 years in education.

KVOE News will have interviews with all five inductees later this week. To view the hall of fame announcement video in its entirety click here.  

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Last modified on Tuesday, 15 September 2020 11:29