Second round of Hopkins Awards presented to Emporia faculty members

The Hopkins Foundation was busy presenting awards to long time Emporia Public Schools staff Thursday. 
Seven long-time employees of the district were presented with the Hopkins Award today which includes a $2,000 prize. The reward was created by E.L. Hopkins as a way to honor and reward educators.
Christy Dragonas, Language Arts teacher at Emporia Middle School, was one of the recipients and was surprised when she found out she won the award.
Gary Loucks, Head Custodian at Timmerman Elementary, was the second recipient of the day and said he never expected to hear his name for the award.
Three staff members from Emporia High School were recipients as well. Jana Marstall, business teacher says she enjoys getting her students ready for the real world.
Art department chair Josh Pavlik says he gets up each day excited to go to work.
Renae Tegtmeier has been called "the glue" that makes the front office run smoothly. She said she never expected her name to be called.
From the Mary Herbert Education Center, Marc Price was this year's recipient. She has been part of the district for 26 years.
Village Elementary paraprofessional and aide Jennifer Rutledge talked about how she wants her students to remember her.
This was the second round of Hopkins Awards for the Emporia School District. Four other teachers were recognized earlier this month.